The Phantom Rockers
Gig Seeker Pro

The Phantom Rockers


Band World Punk


This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos


The best kept secret in music


"Big Wheel Magazine/April 2006"

The Psychobilly band was started in 1993 by the original bassist of the old-school English psychos the Krewman. The Rockers/Meteors 1993 US tour introduced psychobilly to the USA, before which there really no psychobilly bands here.

On this latest disc, more of the good psycho we're used to, my fave track being a cover of Billy Idol's "King Rocker," a story about Elvis Presley and John Lennon in bout for the title of King Rocker. Also "You Spin Me Around (Like a Record)" by Dead or Alive, which they actually pull off pretty entertainingly also. Some original winners are the primitive "Jungle Beat," and "Gunfight of El Paso" which tells a tale of a widower's revenge on the outlaw who killed his wife and stole his gold. - King Nick


World-class Metallic KO hooky psycho with Punk snarl and sinew means guitars on 11 and volcanic drums forward. Lead Phantom Mark Burke beats a brick doghouse and howls moonward as befits a possessed soul. Innocents beware.

RECOMMENDED TRACKS "Dr Lector," "The Boogieman"

FIVE STARS (excellent)
- David Larson


Shag-Squirt ~1995 (Tomb-Disc)
Av' Some of This! ~1997 (Tombstone)
Rise Up ~ 2003 (Drunkabilly)
On the Loose ~2005 (Split 7)


Feeling a bit camera shy


The Phantom Rockers were formed in 1988 in the U.K. after singer Mark Burke left The Krewmen. Their second album “Kissed by a Werewolf” became the best selling Psychobilly record in Europe in 1989 and it established the Phantom Rockers in the U.K.

They’ve been credited, along with the Meteors, to bringing Psychobilly to the U.S. with their 1993 American Tour. After 17 years, the Phantom Rockers have released 10 albums and have shared the stage with many influential bands such as The Guana Batz, Meteors, Anti-Nowhere League, and Rev. Horton Heat.

The Phantom Rockers now reside in Texas and are contributing to the growing psycho scene. The new line-up includes Scotty Tecce (Kim Lenz, The Fabulous Harmonaires), Nick Warneke (The Atomic Fiends), and Jake Galindo (Sick City Daggers). When asked what makes them different from other psychobilly bands their response was “Bigger Dicks, More Shaggin.”