The Picture Of  Dorian Gray
Gig Seeker Pro

The Picture Of Dorian Gray

Long Branch, New Jersey, United States | SELF

Long Branch, New Jersey, United States | SELF
Band Metal


This band hasn't logged any future gigs

This band hasn't logged any past gigs

This band has not uploaded any videos
This band has not uploaded any videos


The best kept secret in music


This band has no press


A New Day Rising - Single
The Picture Of Dorian Gray EP


Feeling a bit camera shy


In fall 2010 Bobby McGruther (ex Dawn Escape bassist) set out to start a metalcore band. The idea for it started when hanging out and jamming with his neighbors Miles Wardrop (Guitar), and Tim Fisher (Drums) with McGruther as lead vocals. The three soon approached Matthew Rib to play bass and Kyle Waldron to play second guitar and clean vocals. Originally the band was called The Number 23. Due to time restraints of college the band never had a single practice and McGruther and Waldron were left to find new members. The name of the band was then officially changed to The Picture Of Dorian Gray (abbreviated TPODG) when McGruther was reading the Oscar Wilde novel of the same name. Joel Aponte was added on drums and soon replaced by Daniel Yukob (now the bands current drum tech). Yukob left the band due his discomfort playing the style of music of the band. Daniels then roommate Theo Diehl was added to the line up on guitar but was originally asked to play bass. A month after Yukob's departure from the band Chris Martin (original Dawn Escape drummer until replaced by Orlando Herrera) was added as the bands new drummer. The band still without a bass player decided to move forward with the writing process until May 2011 when McGruther left to join a band in Bowling Green Kentucky as there bass player. McGruther was supposed to join the band in KY on May 16th, but before the departure date McGruther released a statement to his friends and family via facebook stating that he would not be leaving and had formed a new pop punk band with Sean Lawlor (guitar), Vinay Shah (guitar), Daniel Yukob (drums) and himself on bass and vocals called Let This Day Go. The project never got off the ground. Soon it was announced via the official The Picture Of Dorian Gray facebook page that the band would be re-uniting. Shortly, Waldron left the band due to creative and personal differences leaving the line up with McGruther (lead vocals) Diehl (guitar) and Martin (drums). On August 3rd 2011 at 10:28pm the band announced via facebook video update that the bands debut EP would be coming out that upcoming Halloween and would be titled A New Day Rising. The video featured a song clip of the title track. August 8th the band added Matt Simmons to the line up on second guitar and Rob Beane on bass. August 10th the band released a new logo and t-shirt design via the bands official facebook. Diehl left band in late August due to issues at home. TPODG's official facebook made it clear that the band and Diehl parted on good terms. September the band announced that the ep would be self titled. On October 4th the band released a stand alone single on iTunes called A New Day Rising. October 11th the band added Jim Raively on guitar and clean vocals. On October 12th McGruther tweeted "So..uh..our EP's done." It was confirmed via the bands Facebook page that the EP was in fact done.