The Pit That Became A Tower

The Pit That Became A Tower


Indie Rock of Ages. From the hills of Jerusalem, from the valleys of the Galilee, comes an indie rock collective that parades sonic anthems about the reality of this age, the urgency of now, and existing principles both seen and unseen.


In 2005, the eclectic Bay-Area, California indie/hip-hop outfit Why? released a song called “Mutant John” on their EP, “Sanddollars”. In this song, frontman Yoni Wolf decided to sing out the email address of a long-lost friend on the other side of the world - Adam Lee Rosenfeld. What resulted was a barrage of emails with cryptic messages and even more cryptic attachments, all with the underlying question: who is this guy anyway?
Adam grew up in Cincinnati, OH with the Wolf brothers - Yoni and Josiah - from Why?/cLOUDDEAD, which contributed to a mutual appreciation of the generally more left-field things in music, art, film, culture in general, etc. - but during those childhood years, Adam’s parents promptly packed their bags and returned to the country from whence they came - Israel.
Adam’s experience throughout his teenage and young adult years - the rift between Western and Middle Eastern culture, spiritual awakening, military service, marriage, children - produced within him a voice quite uniquely his own, a voice committed to tape, or whatever other format, with the intensity and musical energy that comes from hours and hours, bus ride after bus ride, of listening to Guided By Voices and super-underground psychedelic rock band Polyphemus, amongst others.
The Pit That Became A Tower is the band that Adam started with his wife Bethany in 2003, although recordings had been floating around for a while under different names (Mutant John, Gospel Zombie). It ranges from 1-piece to 5-piece, depending on who’s in the country, who’s in their ninth month of pregnancy, and who’s got exams. TPTBAT have shared the stage with Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy, Why?, and Voxtrot, amongst others.
“The Pineapple Fields” is the second album by TPTBAT. It is a collection of acoustic-driven psych/lo-fi/folk songs recorded in a
studio, in a bedroom, in the backstage of a club, and in a now-evacuated town in the Gaza Strip, bringing new meaning to the term “field recording”.

“There isn’t one other record that comes to mind that carries the urgency in emotion that this album does.” - Decoy Music
“The eighth track is the best song I’ve heard this year.” - The Phantom Tollbooth
“One of this year’s best.” - Qube


"The Pineapple Fields" - Men Of Israel Records 2006
"Behold! The Unseen" - Men Of Israel Records 2005
"Our Split EP" (w/Jai Agnish) - Men Of Israel 2003
"Scene But Not Herd" - Velvet Blue Music 2001
"Do...whatchalike?" - Beikoku Ongaku 2004
"Inside Looking Out" - Audio Collage/NMC 2004
"This Is Indie Rock Vol. 1" - Deep Elm 2004

Set List

Our set covers our entire discography, revolving around our full-length album, "Behold! The Unseen". Here is an example set list:
1. Weary Eyes
2. Hermit Ranger/The Path Of Crystal Clear
3. Big Men
4. The Battle Of Walnut Hills
5. I Must Save The President
6. The Fifth Beatle
7. Behold! The Unseen
8. Great Grandfather Alarm Clock
9. The Cornstalk Dance
10. Hang On For Dear Life
11. Introducing: a.Racing Circuit b.Dragonslayer
12. Between Fools (And Kings)
13. Red River Gorge Blues
14. In The Name Of The Eradicator

This set is about an hour long. The covers that we perform, if we choose to, are:
1. "Crazy Train" by Ozzie Osbourne
2. "Baba O'Reily" by The Who
3. "Kennel District" by Pavement