Los Angeles, California, USA
BandHip Hop

Award-winning Music Producer & Hip Hop Artist, J-Sw!ft of Pharcyde, one of the most influential alternative hip hop groups in the 90s, who produced smash hit, "Passin' Me By", in debut Gold album, "Bizarre Ride II The Pharcyde". ROCKumentary 1MOREHIT / Negro Kanevil Solo Album in 2012.


Hip-hop producer, J-Sw!ft, was born Juan (John) Manuel Martinez in Madrid, Spain to Dolores and Pedro Martinez on December 27, 1971. His Afro-Cuban father was a Salsa musician, songwriter, and performer who taught J-Sw!ft music theory at a young age. In 1974, the family headed to Los Angeles, California, settling in Inglewood. At age six, J was enrolled in the Mazar Piano Conservatory, quickly proving to be a prodigy.

By the age of 14, J caught the attention of R&B record producer Reggie Andrews, best known for his work on The Dazz Band’s 1982 Funk Hit, “Let It Whip”. Andrews, who was also a school teacher at Locke High School, provided J with a recording studio making beats and writing songs at South Central Unit (SCU), an after-school program for disadvantaged young talent. This gave J the opportunity to submit songs to A&M Record’s Rondor Music Publishing, while additional
work came via BMI’s Cheryl Dickerson. J-Sw!ift’s official songwriting/producing debut came in 1991 working with Epic Record Artist, Keisha Jackson, daughter of the legendary comedian Millie Jackson, and her song “Feel You Out”. That collaboration led him to work with Ricki Bell and Ronnie DeVoe of New Edition (Bell Biv Devoe).

In 1992, J-Sw!ft landed a record deal with Delicious Vinyl as a producer/songwriter to go on and produce an album for his hip-hop group, The Pharcyde. The album, Bizarre Ride II the Pharcyde was released in November of 1992. The hit single from that album, "Passing Me By" propelled the album to gold status selling (500,000 units). Kanye West recently stated, “The album Bizarre Ride II the Pharcyde is his favorite album of all time”.

J-Sw!ft has worked with a number of different recording artists since being a producer on Delicious Vinyl which include Prince, The Outlawz, Massive Attack, Mos Def, to name a few.

Currently his music is featured internationally on various television shows, movies and networks including, America's Next Top model, E True Hollywood Story, E Investigates, Dukes of Hazzard, King of the Hill, Barbara Walters Presents...., Busted, Date My Mom. Playboy, Pimp My
Ride, Pride and Glory, HBO, Cinemax, Punk'd, True Life, VH-1's 40 Most Shocking Divorces, and The Wolves of Wall Street.

In addition, J-Sw!ft is currently in the recording studio finishing his soon to be released debut solo album, The Adventures of Negro Kanevil. The first single from this album, High When
I'm Sober is currently available on ITunes. The music off the new solo album is inspired by the ROCKumentary film, 1 More Hit, which chronicles J-Sw!ft's fall from grace as a successful young producer to homeless and drug-addicted in Hollywood to ultimately his redemption. The film is currently available On AT&T U-Verse on Demand and Verizon Fios. There are plans for a world-wide tour to celebrate the 20th Anniversary of the album, Bizarre Ride II the Pharcyde along
with the CD release of The Adventures of Negro Kanevil kicking off this Summer 2012. Stay Tuned!


PHARYCYDE's "Bizarre Ride II The Pharcyde" - 1992

Track listing:
1. "4 Better or 4 Worse (Interlude)" Songwriter/Producer
2. "Oh Shit" Co-Writer/Producer
3. "It's Jiggaboo Time (Skit)" Co-Writer/Producer
4. "4 Better or 4 Worse" Co-Writer/Producer
5. "I'm That Type of Nigga" Co-Writer/Producer
6. "If I Were President (Skit)" Co-Writer/Producer
7. "Soul Flower (Remix)" Producer
8. "On the DL" Co-Writer/Producer
9. "Pack The Pipe" (Interlude Instrumental) Producer
10. "Officer" Co-Writer/Producer
11. "Ya Mama" Co-Writer/Producer
12. "Passin Me By" Co-Writer/Producer
13. "Otha Fish"
14. "Quinton's on the Way (Skit)" Co-Writer/Producer
15. "Pack the Pipe" Co-Writer/Producer
16. "Return of the B-Boy" Co-Writer/Producer

Album Charts:
1993 Billboard Hot 200 #75
1993 Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums #23
1993 Top HeatSeekers #3

Single "Passin Me By" Charts:
1993 Billboard Hot 100 #52
1993 Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Singles & Tracks #28
1993 Hot Rap Singles #1
1993 Hot Dance Music/Maxi-Singles Sales #6


1993 The Wascals - Greatest Hits

1994 Quinton - Quinton's Here – Tommy Boy Records
1) "Quinton's on the Way (A Jazzy Skit)" (production)
2) "Still Fiendin'" (production)
3) "Quinton's Here" (production)
4) "I'm Not an MC" (production)
5) "Quinton's Here" [instrumental] (production)
6) "Ill Friend" (production)

1994 Prince – "Letitgo" – Warner Bros. Records
6) Letitgo (Sherm Stick Edit) (production)

1995 Urban Thermo Dynamics - "Manifest Destiny (single)" - Payday/ffrr Records
3) "Manifest Destiny (J-Swift Edit)" (production)

1995 Massive Attack – "Protection" – Virgin Records
4) "Protection (J Swift Mix)" (production)

2000 The Pharcyde – Trust – Delicious Vinyl Records
1) "Trust (Remix)" (production)

2000 Buc Fifty - Bad Man – Battle Axe Records

2004 Buc Fifty - Serve The Devil, Praise The Lord - Battle Axe Records
4) "Gangster (Murderville)" (production)
7) "Manifest Destiny" (production)

2000 Various - Delicious Vinyl Presents... Prime Cuts Vol. 1 - Battle Axe Records
2) "The Black Pack - Used To Be My Lover" (production)