The Rucksack Willies

The Rucksack Willies

 Toronto, Ontario, CAN

One of Toronto's up-and-coming bands, The Rucksack Willies have no shortage of foot stompin, washboard brushin, sweet singin old-style country charm. Join them in celebrating their newest album "Moving On".


A combination of rockabilly string-band resonances and jazz stylings, the music of The Rucksack Willies is as complex as it is easy to enjoy. The mature sounds emanating from this youthful band both surprise and delight.

The Rucksack Willies are a true Canadian amalgamation, combining the many talents of Angela Hilts on lead vocals, guitar, and banjo, Megan Thomas on vocals and washboard, Michael Eckert on pedal steel and dobro, Lucas Gadke on bass and vocals, Galen Pelley on percussion and vocals, and Adrian Gross on guitar and mandolin. As evidenced, the instruments used by this band are as diverse and unique as their musical creations.

The Rucksack Willies released their debut album, Letter to Anne, in 2011, and have since been appearing throughout the GTA in festivals such as the Mariposa Festival and NXNE, as well as performing weekly at the Cameron House right here in Toronto. (Talia C.)
"Moving On" will be the second album released by The Rucksack Willies. The official release takes place December 11th at Hugh's Room. Building on their initial rootsy sound explored in "Letter to Anne", The Willies take "Moving on" into an evocative roller coaster of love and loss. With help from Producer Josh Van Tassel and recording engineer Reuben Ghose, the album has captured the depth of human emotion through the shaping of spacial and sound environments. This album will surely take you on an emotional journey.


Full Length Album
The Rucksack Willies-Letter to Anne

1. Beautiful Stranger
2. Higher
3. Wandering Man
4. There is Nothing
5. Summers Over
6. Letter to Anne
7. Waiting for a Sign
8. Midnight Ghost
9. Hold Me
10. Take Me Down

Full Length Album
The Rucksack Willies-Moving On "Release date March 2014"

1. Morning Train
2. Over the Hill
3. Moving On
4. Honey Harbour
5. "Oh! My Sweet Lady"
6. Moonshine
7. Follow You Down
8. The Grave
9. Time Rolls By
10. Empty House



Last Fm-

Set List

Set List (2-45minutes sets)

Waiting for a Sign
Beautiful Stranger
Pick up your boots
So low
Wagon Wheel
Over the Hill
Wild Mountain Thyme
Shape I'm in

Summers Over
There is Nothing or Honey Habour
Midnight Ghost
Midnight Special
I Know you Rider
See Me
Follow you Down
Whisky Lover
Take Me Down