The Small Stars

The Small Stars


Frank Sinatra meets Mott the Hoople in the women's restroom at Denny's


Born of the drum-addled minds of Fastball's Miles Zuniga and Jeff Groves, The Small Stars early beginnings go way back to Austin, Texas circa 1989. The first performance by Guy Fantasy and Buddy Llamas took place in a lesbian coffee house just off Austin's famous 6th Street music district. Sadly, before a second show could be arranged, rock bands, record deals, platinum albums, and world tours got in the way. Now, 15 years later with the preliminaries behind them, the pair are back, and they've brought a few more musicians with them.

“A band that's a musical that's a band,” is the seed of The Small Stars' rock-n-roll-vaudevillian nature. The band’s characters, revue acts, and stage play explore limits the 'pop'-eratic structure. To push the story of Guy Fantasy and his cabaret, David v. Goliath narrative, Zuniga and Groves have written songs balanced upon the edge of Dean Martin's inebriaic croonings and David Bowie's character glam-slams.

Sounds great on paper, but a funny thing happened on the way to the theater. Unlike most supergroups, this seemingly random amalgam became an actual honest to goodness BAND, the veritable sum-greater-than-the-parts ensemble.

Miles Zuniga as Guy Fantasy the Singer/Master of Ceremonies also from Fastball
Jeff Groves as Buddy Llamas as Saxophonist/Sidekick also from Fastball
John Bush as Brick Masterson on Drums also in New Bohemians/Edie Brickell
Jeff Johnston as Godfrey McCambridge on Bass also from Li'l Cap'n Travis
Landis Armstrong as Richard Steele on Guitar from the El Orbits

The band’s first release took Texas by storm garnering much press and praise. Featured in Texas Music magazine’s CD sampler, “Otra Vez” became a regional number one song. The band was also chosen as a featured artist on Apple’s iTunes Music Store’s “Staff Favorites.” Then to top it off, the Austin Chronicle placed the Small Stars Debut on their Best of 2005 list. Naked Calendars, A Movie debut, A West Coast Tour, and over 150 shows behind them the Small Stars are just getting started.

The band just recently finished recording their 2nd CD to be titled Tijuana Dreams. Produced by the jimmies and engineered by Michael Crow, the album came out punchin’ and kickin’. The boys even managed to get super-legend master-mixer Bob Clearmountain (Rolling Stones "Tattoo You", David Bowie "Let's Dance", Bruce Springsteen "Born in the USA", Roxy Music "Avalon", and so on) to mix the album. The Stars took all their favorite bits from the red light cabarets to the latin glam-rock discos and super-sized them stretching the band’s oeuvre (ouch). The Small Stars also recruited Texas legend Joe Ely to lend his impeccable voice to the border-style “That’s What God Made Whiskey For” coming to a download site near you.

Also on the web at:


The Small Stars (Self Titled - 2005)
Tijuana Dreams (2007)

Set List

February 16, 2007
Starlight Theatre

Set 1:
01 Let's Hit The Town
02 Twenty-One
03 That's What God Made Whiskey For
04 You Never Can Tell (Chuck Berry) *
05 Tijuana Dreams
06 Just Like Tom Thumb's Blues (Bob Dylan)
07 Sweet Sweet Sweet
08 Bombarderos Y Pistoleros
Set 2:
01 T-Bone Shuffle (T-Bone Walker)
02 Otra Vez
03 Volver (Fernando Maldonado)
04 The Peanut Song
05 True Hollywood Story
06 Twentyfourseven #
07 Ooh Las Vegas (Gram Parsons) *

February 17, 2007
Railroad Blues

Set 1:
01 Let's Hit The Town
02 Twenty-One
03 That's What God Made Whiskey For
04 Boogie Stop Shuffle (Charles Mingus)
05 Tijuana Dreams
06 Otra Vez
07 Volver (Fernando Maldonado)
08 The Peanut Song
09 Bombarderos Y Pistoleros
Set 2:
01 Introducing Guy Fantasy
02 Bad Boy (The Jive Bombers)
03 True Hollywood Story
04 Sweet Sweet Sweet
05 Nitty Gritty (Doug Sahm)
06 You Never Can Tell (Chuck Berry) *
07 Alcohol (The Kinks)
08 Vehicle (The Ides Of March)