The Telepathic Butterflies

The Telepathic Butterflies



After endearing themselves to the psyche-lodic guitar-pop cognoscenti with their aptly-named 2003 Rainbow Quartz debut, INTRODUCING, the Telepathic Butterflies take flight once again, this time with a brilliant new full-length effort titled SONGS FROM A SECOND WAVE.

Like the material that comprised its critically heralded predecessor, Songs from a Second Wave captures the inspired and inspiring work of guitarist/vocalist and principal songwriter Rejean Ricard, drummer/percussionist Jacques Dubois and bass player Eric Van Buren, and projects it in layer upon vibrant layer of extra-spectral resonance, conjuring sonic shapes and shadows at once classically familiar and compellingly novel. First-rate performances and bang-on harmonies mingle with decidedly adroit arrangements, timeless production nuances and subtly profound lyrics, ultimately confirming the Telepathic Butterflies membership among the contemporary masters of the melodic pop realm.

The namesake compositions on Songs from a Second Wave were written, rehearsed and recorded in the south end of the Telepathic Butterflies’ hometown of Winnipeg, Canada. Songs from a Second Wave is bookended with a good-natured and instantly memorable opening rocker called “Bonhomie,” and the dreamy, Beatlesque closer “Big Bang!,” several lines of which are delivered en francais – a first for any Telepathic Butterflies recording.

Though formed during the waning years of the 20th Century, the Telepathic Butterflies’ core duo of Rej and Jake has been closely acquainted for about as long as Kurt Vonnegut’s Breakfast of Champions has been in print. Bass player Eric, meanwhile, came into the fold shortly after the 2000 release of the band’s independent debut CD Nine Songs (several tracks of which were revisited two years later on the much more widely released Introducing). Previously, Eric handled four-string duties as a member of now defunct Winnipeg art-rock combo Grand Theft Canoe.


Songs From A Second Wave (Rainbow Quartz 2004)
Introducing… (Rainbow Quartz 2003)
Nine Songs (Independent 2001)