The Thought Of

The Thought Of

 Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

We're art/prog rock. Think ...And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead but more film score-y, the softer piano side of Nine Inch Nails, add a pinch of the neo-psych/noise rock scene, and perhaps a dose of PJ Harvey.


The Thought Of are an American art/progressive rock band formed under the electric blanket of luminescence in the desert called Las Vegas. Their ideological lineage: disregard the traditional restraints and format of popular music, while still making a mark in that arena. Aural punctuation includes stinging riffs, dreamy arpeggios and other atmospherics that adorn sultry, dynamic vocals and a dense rhythm section. The band is collectively inspired by (and therefore influences include) acts such as …And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead, NIN, The Smashing Pumpkins, and Sunny Day Real Estate.

The quintet is now playing live in support of their first release, a self-titled five-song EP, and material from a forthcoming LP entitled Aurea Verba, which is being recorded and produced by the band in their private studio. The DIY-leaning band is actively learning how to use new media to appropriately and craftily expose themselves to interested parties endeavoring to discover new and meaningful art.

The nascent collective features members that are experienced and diverse: Eric Rickey (keys, guitar, vox) and Eli Southard (guitar, vox) have actively written music together for a decade. Southard grew legs in power pop outfit Fern, which was handpicked by the Goo Goo Dolls for their Music and Technology tour and produced by notable Fugazi Producer Ted Nicely. Multi-talented drummer Mathew Long (who fronts his own band) has shared many projects with notable guitar player Caleb Denison of Never Shout Never, and played in The Rhones, a previous underground L.A. outfit ending in 2007 that have since become the darlings of Prime Time with their songs featured on TV’s My Name is Earl, The Mentalist, Late Night With Jimmy Fallon, and in the film Pulse.

Bob’s your uncle.


2010 EP "The Thought Of"
2011 LP "Aurea Verba"