The Voom Blooms

The Voom Blooms


“They write songs about ships, have the whole psychedelic 60s thing going on, they play harmonicas and jangly guitars and their bass player sounds like he jumped in a time machine to spend the night spying on Phil Spector working with the Ronnettes.


The Voom Blooms formed in the later months of 2005. Since then they have reached some creditable milestones and have become around 4th most successful band to come out of Leicestershire, following in the footsteps of bands such as Kasabian and Showaddywaddy...

Packed out tours with the likes of Babyshambles, The View, Boy Kill Boy, The Horrors, The Paddingtons and Larrikin Love. Two of their own headline tours in 2007 which included a headline slot on the "Jim Beam Rising Stage" at Leicester's Summer Sundae festival. A debut 7” single released on Fiction Records (Ian Brown, Snow Patrol) which sold-out of its 1000 copies within 4 days of its release. Airplay on various radio stations such as Radio 1, Radio 2, BBC6 Music, KEXP, KCRW, XFM, Virgin from DJs such as Steve Lamacq and Zane Lowe.

A host of creditable accolades including;
Top 10 in Channel 4's 'Best New British Bands Showcase', receiving more than 24,000 votes.
Claiming the music industry’s ‘Record of the Day’ slot 3 times.
Aired on Channel 4’s new music show in 2007.
Announced as one of the best new bands of the year by U.S. magazine ‘Rolling Stone’.
Signing their the first record deal over in Japan. A three-year contract with label ‘Fabtone’ (Japan only). Including a tour over there in late 2008/early2009.
The band took their first tour of the US in March. A 6-week trek visiting California, Texas, Seattle, and New York. Including a hugely successful showcase at Austin's South By South West music festival.
The band have just completed their 2nd stint across the Atlantic shores, playing at NYC's very own CMJ festival.
Their forthcoming debut EP 'The Beach House' will be released for free early 2009.


SINGLE : "Politics & Cigarettes" (Fiction Records) 2006
SIGNLE : "Anna" (23rd Recordings) 2007
ALBUM : "Nine Ships" (Fabtone Records) 2007
*Japanese release only*
EP : "The Beach House EP" (To be released late 2009)

Set List

The Old Lighthouse
Nine Ships
Politics & Cigarettes
Settle Down
Thoughts of Rena
By The Seashore