The Weather Underground

The Weather Underground


We are a post-grunge rock and roll band that writes catchy hard rock songs and quieter, introspective acoustic songs. Ontario the Chemical is our debut album, funded entirely by ourselves. We make music to get people out of their seats dancing and being merry, for tomorrow we might die.


The Weather Underground are named after the 1960s and 70s radical political organization and the Bob Dylan lyric, “Don’t need a weatherman to know which way the wind blows”. Our music is catchy post grunge rock and roll. It has a very heavy, groove-oriented bottom end with catchy vocals and great lead guitar riffs. We're influenced a lot by 90's alternative rock but our music sounds modern.

The Weather Underground has played shows in many of the most legendary venues throughout Ontario alongside some of the biggest new Canadian bands including Idle Sons, The Black Maria, Mariana’s Trench, and The Left. We recorded our debut full length cd in Hamilton, Ontario, and called it “Ontario the Chemical” in homage to the addictive influence that the Canadian provincial landscape has had on the band. Our cd can be bought at various stores throughout Ontario and has been charting in the top 10 on University radio.

We're not political but our namesake is indicative of the no bullshit, non-manufactured image of a band that lets the music speak for itself. We're not interested in being rock stars; we just want to make good music. Thats us in a nutshell...well, more like a coconut.


LP - "Ontario the Chemical" 2006

Our tracks can currently be heard on CFRU Guelph radio. "Dead Men Don't Tell Lies" can be streamed on CFMU McMaster Radio's Top 10 at:

Four of our songs can be heard on our website: or our myspace at

Our cd can be bought at various stores throughout Ontario.

Set List

We usually play one set that is forty-five minutes to an hour long. We do one acoustic song and one cover alongside our up-tempo rock songs.

1. Auroro Borealis
2. Empty Cup
3. Corner of My Mind
4. On A Trip
5. Dead Men Don't Tell Lies (acoustic)
6. Suck My Kiss (Red Hot Chili Peppers cover)
7. Best Thing.
8. Get Down
9. Doppelganger