The Winters

The Winters


The Winters create a unique sound combining lush vocal imagery, classic rock grit, and brit pop invention.


The Winters were formed in Sydney in mid 2001 out of a shared passion for the creation of original music and the resolve of the band’s four founding members to pursue a life long ambition.

The early years of The Winters existence saw the members developing their sound on the stages of Sydney’s pub circuit and in relentless hours of rehearsal. The music of The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, The Band, Nick Drake, Led Zeppelin, Neil Young, Pink Floyd and The Who, coupled with more contemporary influences such as Blur, Oasis, Radiohead and Augie March fueling the group’s prolific output of original material.

It was the recording and subsequent release of The Winters’ first EP “Today” in May 2003 which marked the turning point at which the group began to feel their feet, fine tune their art, and gain some attention. Airplay on Triple J, Nova, FBI and 3RRR (Melbourne), in addition to support spots with more established acts such as Thirsty Merc, Waikiki, Bluebottle Kiss, The Camels and many more great bands helped to raise The Winters’ profile.

Reviewers added to The Winters’ gathering momentum, one commentator remarking that “It is music of substance and emotion, at once nostalgic and fresh” (Clem Bastow, Inpress Magazine, Feb 2004).

The group’s second EP “Keef” was released to radio in mid November 2005. “Keef” was quickly placed on rotation on FBI, and secured The Winters a showcase set as part the Australian Music Week Conference, the group’s third consecutive invitation to perform at this event run by Michael Chugg in various venues throughout Melbourne.

The Winters’ third release “Layer Cake” was launched in June 2006 and landed the group a “30 Second Spotlight” interview on Triple J’s Home and Hosed and a spot in the Bondi Winter Music Festival. Layer Cake, along with another of the group’s singles “Leave Me Sleeping” (released in April 2007), received favourable reviews from the press as well as airplay on Triple J and FBI radio (where both singles were placed on rotation).

The Winters’ fifth release, their single “Winter City”, was released to radio in July 2007. Suitably, printing of the group’s current single was completed on the coldest day experienced in Sydney in over 20 years. Downloads and further information are available via the groups myspace site and their website


Four tracks are available for download from The Winters' myspace site
2003 - Today (EP containing 4 tracks)
2005 - Keif (EP containing 4 tracks)
2006 - Layer Cake (Single containing 2 tracks)
2007 - Leave Me Sleeping (Single)
2007 - Winter City (Single)

Set List

The Winters write all of their own songs. Typically, the groups sets range from 45 mins to 1 hour.