T-Minus Band

T-Minus Band


Troy T released 2 CD's of his eclectic one-man band recordings and has recently released a third recorded with the live band he put together. T-minus Band has been compared to The Kinks, Flaming Lips, and even Madonna and Troy T wonders why. He also continues to have "Larry David moments" often.


T-minus Band began as a one-man production in a home studio in 1999. Troy T wrote the songs and played the instruments (except in a few instances) on the first two albums, "Technostalgia" and "Four Legs to Three". In 2003 he brought in band members to facilitate live performances. They have completed a third album, "The Morning After", which combines the band's rock sensibility with the previous albums' eclectic pop sounds. T-minus Band played South Park Music Festival 2005, SXSW 2006, Atlantis 2006 as well as local shows. Music by T-minus Band has been used in 3 local films and in a nationally televised infomercial. The title track from the latest album, "The Morning After", was featured on Magnet Magazine's New Music Sampler CD Vol. 46 in June 2007.

"Things picked up at night as the parties settled indoors at the more intimate Fairplay Hotel and at the Park Bar, and the T-minus Band, Happy Bullets, and many others treated those folks to solid performances." - PopMatters.com (on T-minus Band's performance at the South Park Music Festival, Fairplay, CO.

"Troy T is currently recording a new album, this time with a crack band providing input and emotional guidance. If the rehearsal I sat in on is any indicator, the album will be another good one, featuring more musical hodgepodge from the complicated brain of Troy Thompson, a self-professed worrier, the local scene’s Woody Allen." - The Birmingham Weekly

What Every Young Person Should Know About The T-minus Band.

First the good news
For their debut CD, Technostalgia, and for most of the follow-up Four Legs to Three, Birmingham's T-minus Band is Troy T (aka Troy Thompson) writing the music, playing the instruments, and having a field day in the studio � la Todd Rundgren. Troy T is all over the pop music map, and the map is mainly a detailed, in-relief study of AM radio (which, today, is not unlike a map of Atlantis). Most people who have heard Technostalgia say that it's the best album around right now, of its kind.

There's more than a little Harry Nilsson and Jeff Lynne here, and keener ears may detect the fusion of pop, glam, and psychedelic elements as disparate as Paul McCartney and The Magnetic Fields, or Syd Barrett and The Flaming Lips. Still more intriguing, there are huge swathes of late period Byrds layered throughout, although Troy T claims that no one has ever mentioned Roger McGuinn in any reference to T-minus Band. Clearly, Troy T is either hanging around with the wrong crowd, or he's just not getting out of the studio enough.

That's a good thing, of course. It leads to such jaw-dropping numbers as "Cold Winter's Day," which sounds like Gary Numan and The Cure (when they were cool) getting together on a grey February afternoon to deconstruct John Lennon's "Number 9 Dream." Regarding the song "2084," one hates to throw around terms like "gorgeous" or "transcendent," but one also wonders if this is the lost track from Zabriskie Point that Jerry Garcia and Roger McGuinn forgot to tell us about. Such eclectic work by the T-minus Band brings to mind Beck, except that Troy T forgoes hipster, post-modern flourishes and plays it straight. The results include a stunning arena-rock gem of falsetto vocals and fat, fuzzed-out guitar rumbles called "Take the Ride," a kind of Summer Hits salute to Foghat and Grand Funk. It sounds at first like an irresistible, retro parlor trick, not to mention a no-brainer chart hit. Then the whole business concludes with a vague nod to New Order/Cure, making it far too sophisticated and brilliant for mere radio play.

Now the bad news
Who I am or why I am writing this doesn't matter. I have absolutely no connection with the T-minus Band. I'm not certain that I even like Troy T, who, for all practical purpose, is the T-minus Band. Troy has frustrated us, almost to the point of tears, in our efforts to get him to discuss his music in depth. He won't talk about his favorite records (except for Seventeen Seconds), and he pretends not to know many details about Todd Rundgren. As if. He even claims he's never heard of Rollerskate Skinny or Super Furry Animals. Troy says that he's "not really sure" about being called a studio wizard, and that he's "not comfortable" talking about himself. He actually told me that as he was stepping off of a stage where he had recently, and obviously quite comfortably, performed before a crowd of strangers.

But I can tell you this. Unless somebody wises up, years from now people will be listening to a re-release of Technostalgia and talking about it the way everyone was talking about Nick Drake a few years ago. Not that the T-minus Band make music that is remotely similar to Nick Drake. It's just that everyone will be mildly angry, asking, "Who's the moron that failed to distribute, promote, release, or otherwise make available this marvelous pop music?"

So what does Troy T, the clever lad behind all this music, have to say about the matter?
"I record usi


Technostalgia - (2001)

1. Technostalgia
2. Take the Ride
3. Mountaintop
4. Longing for October
5. Elusive
6. 2084
7. Mr. Big Boy
8. D.O.I.
9. Thinking
10. The Outsider
11. Cold Winter's Day
12. Road Less Traveled
13. Ominous
14. Wrong Kind of People
15. Legacy
16. Technostalgia (reprise)

Four Legs to Three (2003)

1. Molt
2. Under the Radar Screen
3. Voices Fallen
4. Get Old
5. Two Bit
6. Streaming
7. Fort
8. Between the Lines
9. Way to Go
10. Invisimel
11. Luther's Yard
12. Can't You See?
13. Preoccupied
14. Cloudy
15. A Different Lane

The Morning After (2006)

1. Nobody Needs to Help You
2. See Saw
3. Once Upon a Time
4. If it Ever Was at All
5. Rails
6. Great Expectations
7. Salt Peter
8. Sinking
9. The Morning After
10. Waves of Grain
11. Collateral Damage
12. Curtain Call of Sorts

Featured on "Low Dose Exposure", a compilation of Birmingham bands by Skybucket Records released September 2004.

Set List

Can do two 45 minute sets. Generally play one 45 minute set. Don't usually do covers. If we did a cover it would be obscure. We can also do "unplugged" type sets as well as our usual "rock" type sets.