France's most respected industrial sons, Treponem Pal make an impressive return to America with their new album, Higher. Produced by KMFDM mastermind Sascha Konietzko, Higher is a fierce new molotov cocktail. When Treponem Pal began in 1986, the genre was virtually ignored by the media, with only a few writers espousing the future glory of Front 242, Skinny Puppy and Ministry. Their self-titled debut arrived in 1988 on Roadracer (later known as Roadrunner) and Treponem Pal frontman Marco explained his vision for the band as a mix of industrial influences (including Einsturzende Neubauten, The Swans, Test Department), electronics (DAF, Kraftwerk) and even tribal drumming. With a brutal and beautiful mix of groove and hardcore, Treponem Pal began turning heads ... and burning ears.

In the late eighties, during the great Industrial Revolution (when many bands either fell into oblivion or dramatically changed their sound in an effort to cross over), Treponem Pal transcended its roots and toured Europe for two years with The Young Gods and Prong, developing a rabid following along the way.

The early nineties were spearheaded by Wax Trax!, the Chicago label which gave the world KMFDM, Front Line Assembly, Meat Beat Manifesto, Ministry, and many others. Their style sharply influenced the hard rock and metal scene, which suffered the last jolts of bland eighties rock. 1991 was also the year of Aggravation, a record that revealed Treponem Pal's powerful, sensitive and tribal elements. Treponem Pal focused on its vision of enlarging industrial's scope rather than narrowing it to one style that could be easily described ... or dismissed.

In 1992 the band toured with Scorn, Godflesh, Pitch Shifter, and during Lollapalooza, Michel Bassin performed as Ministry's guitarist and Marco was a guest singer for their live set. That year, Treponem.

In 1993, Franz Treichler of The Young Gods produced the critically acclaimed Excess & Overdrive, which featured the club hit "Pushing You Too Far".
With the addition of a new bassist, Treponem Pal signed with Mercury / PolyGram in 1996. While a number of producers were considered for the project, Sascha Konietzko of KMFDM was chosen to take the helm and the album was recorded in Seattle at Bad Animals Studio (home of Soundgarden and Alice In Chains' best work).
The sonic connection between Treponem Pal and KMFDM is clear, and Michel's turbulent guitar work also appears on the upcoming KMFDM album. The album presents the band's view of music at the end of the century, a sound that unites technology, power, wisdom and groove. The band also pays sly homage to their electronic roots with Kraftwerk's "Radioactivity," and offers a twisted new version of Lipps Inc.'s "Funkytown."

Treponem Pal knows the intoxicating power of the bass and how to move an audience. On Higher the message is clear : move your hips and your mind will follow.


treponem pal :1988 (roadracer-roadrunner)
aggravation: 1991 (roadrunner)
excess & overdrive: 1993 (roadrunner)
higher : 1997 (mercury)

Set List

1 - Out Of Reach
2 - For Progress
3 - Pushing You Too Far
4 - Hardcore Massive Soldier
5 - Mad Box
6 - Religion
7 - Sweet Vibes
8 - Radio Activity
9 - Too Many Humans
10 - Cop (Embodiment Of Frustration)
11 - Psycho Rising
12 - Excess & Overdrive