Gig Seeker Pro


Peterborough, Ontario, Canada | Established. Jan 01, 2003 | INDIE

Peterborough, Ontario, Canada | INDIE
Established on Jan, 2003
Band Alternative Electronic




"This Nation Rocks!"

Tripsonix has proven with this new album that there still is new music out there to make. Their fourth studio album ASSIMILATION NATION is a perfect example of that. Over the past five years Tripsonix has made a name for themselves in the underground, not just as a local indi band in their native Canada, but also abroad. Most of their fans live outside of North America, but with this album's singles like "O.K. To Go" and "Great Pub In The Sky", that will change. - New Music Network

"Tripsonix: “Betrayal” danceable beats in tune with lyrical hooks, and intelligently designed instrumentation"

Tripsonix, the duo of J. Brent Rombough and Jay Bulman has been active since 2003. They have since recorded 6 albums, all on their own label JAB Records, and garner sales from all corners of the globe. They have popped up on every media platform, from Video games and Dvd menus to Tv commercials and movie trailers. A large majority of their sounds and loops have also shown up in numerous DAWS and recording software.

The latest Tripsonix album is the 14 track “Betrayal”. The word that I think sums the album up most accurately is ‘compelling’. After listening to the recording over and over and over again, I have come to respect the achievement of this band and this album in a way that I respect the work of very few bands; J. Brent Rombough and Jay Bulman manage to absorb and, in a critical way, digest and re-produce many varied musical precedents into a strangely fresh form.

They set the bar for all progressive punk, rock, techno, alternative and whatever else you can think of genres. They deliver a complete variety through a mix of analog, electronic and digital musical techniques with an unrelenting, rhythmic energy that is completely effective in establishing a foundation upon which they succeed in crafting an alarmingly listenable and compelling album with “Betrayal”.

Never was the timing more correct then now to breathe a breath of air into the dying lugs of the current music scene. Everything is dead or is bubblegum with corporate influence dragging down all creative potential – lyrically, and musically. “Betrayal” is unpretentious, but exploratory art. It not only achieves this status but is also fun to listen too, and intended to be taken seriously too. The lyrics remain stellar throughout almost, and the music will leave you tapping your feet and humming the choruses.

Lyrically, this album pokes fun at traditional song writing structures. The vocals soar high, and then hides, keeping the listener on edge and creating a tension not seen in music today. So please take notice of Tripsonix now because they are what modern music’s future is.

From the moment the opening song, “I’m Not Me” kicks off Tripsonix spew out danceable beats in tune with lyrical hooks, and intelligently designed instrumentation that hit hard. There is not one song that you will not be tapping your toes to and absolutely loving, while the vocal arrangements just add flame to the fire.

It was really hard choosing standout tracks as everything is on such an addictive level here, but my favorites are “Sucks To be You”, “I Died Last Night”, “Follow Me”, “Can’t Take This Anymore”, “Looking For A Place To Happen”, “You Don’t Know What You’ve Done” and “Light”. All throughout the duo have a style of music that is unlike any other. You’d have to blend Panic! at the Disco with Fall Out Boy and Depeche Mode to get a sense of what’s going on here. “Betrayal” is an original and true effort that should leave you smiling and tapping your toes! - JamSphere

"Tripsonix – Sounds From The Electric City"

Tripsonix neatly weaves dance, rock, and pop with a party atmosphere on the undeniably catchy “Sounds From The Electric City”. By far the true heart and soul of the sound pours out of the passionately delivered lyricism. With a knack for storytelling Tripsonix crafts elaborate narratives over the course of the album, tying them together with true grace and style. Melody and groove intersect to become one. Thus, the sound moves forward at an incredible speed while still retaining a dreamy quality.

Not a moment is wasted on the opener “Electric City”. From the giddiness of the guitar to the way that the song builds, the classic 70s feel reigns supreme albeit with an updated edge to it. Indeed, this glam approach plays to their strengths. Electropop pours out of the tenderness of “This Is My New Life”. Neon-hued with a video-game melody is the playful performance of “Listen”. “The Comedown” employs distortion with a slight nod to dubstep. Indie rock permeates one of the highlights of the album, the joyous rush of “Slow Motion Car Crash”. Volume is an absolute must for the commanding spirit of “Walk the Walk” which is full of confidence. Slowing things down a bit is the introspective “Welcome Sky”. Further stripping things down is the intimacy of “Tia Sings”. Ending things on a high note is the geometric style of “You Destroyed Me”.

On “Sounds From Electric City” Tripsonix sculpt a celebratory spirit. - Beachsloth


Riding Shotgun Without A Driver (2003)

Umbilical World (2004)

Angel Del Infierno (2006)

The Singles (2007)

Assimilation Nation (2008)

Now It's A Party (2013)

The Singles Vol II (2015)

Betrayal (2015)

Sounds From The Electric City (2017)



Tripsonix began as a side project for two members of Peacock; Brent Rombough and Jason Bulman. In 2003 they released their debut album "Riding Shotgun Without A Driver" and had five singles on the college charts in Canada. The follow up "Umbilical World" released in 2004, charted four singles and had the track "Complacent Universe" featured on a PS2 commercial and an episode of South Park. Their third album "Angel Del Infierno" was released on November 28th 2006 and the six singles charted on the New Music Top 20 in Canada. Tripsonix also won "Favorite Artist", "Favorite Single" for "At The Right Time", and "Favorite Album" for "Angel Del Infierno" at the 2008 New Music Awards. Their fourth album "Assimilation Nation" was released in 2008 with all six singles enjoying radio play. Tripsonix was nominated for two awards at the 2009 New Music Awards; Favorite Album and Favorite Group. In 2013 they re-emerged after a hiatus with their fifth album "Now It's A Party", then their sixth "Betrayal" in 2014; which they took on the road for a thirteen month "Worldwide Betrayal" tour. Tripsonix released their current album "Sounds From The Electric City" on May 19th of this year. They currently have released four singles; "Walk The Walk", "Electric City", "That Made My Summer" and “Meant For Me”.