Twisty Cats

Twisty Cats

 Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Twisty Cats are a synth-infused rock band whose drum machine-propelled music is seductive and at times brutal.


Twisty Cats are a synth-infused rock band who whose drum machine-propelled music ranges from seductive to brutal. 

The band regularly pop back up to NYC for well-received live appearances, and have played gigs in Atlanta, Los Angeles and Miami to name a few. They have played internationally in Italy and France. Twisty Cats have shared the stage with Escapism (Ian Svenonius), Tav Falco and Panther Burns, Quintron and Miss Pussycat, Hackedepicciotto  (members of Einstuerzende Neubauten and Crime and the City Solution), and Norman Westerberg(Swans), and toured the EU with Bilbao, Spain's Capsula

Peter (lead vocals and guitarist) previously played in a bunch of touring bands from The Vanity Set (featuring members of Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds), to Tav Falco's Panther Burns.  He fronted NY trio Bellmer Dolls (the band toured as openers for Nick Cave and Jon Spencer Blues Explosion).  When not wielding a guitar and microphone Peter is a studio rat with credits ranging from The National (High Violet) and Sharon Van Etten (Tramp) to Boy Harsher (self-titled EP and Yr Body Is Nothing), to Azar Swan (Golden Age), Bootblacks, etc.  

Blake (vocals, synth and bass) cut her teeth in the Atlanta scene playing in the proto-punk Knife and the Stabs alongside an adolescent Black Lips in the early 2000's. She moved on to the NY fashion world before resurfacing, Thunderbird bass in hand, to form Twisty Cats.

New addition, Mike Schatz (drummer) joined the duo in September of 2018 bringing their sound to full fruition. Schatz brings his experience of playing in bands all over the world in all genres including funk, afro-beat, rockabilly, and rock n roll to the table complimenting the Twisty Cat's experimental sounds. 

Twisty Cats self-released their debut album "Our Quiet Fantasy" on their own label "Push!Push!" records on Valentines Day, 2018. It is available on all digital platforms with limited edition vinyl and CD's available for purchase on their band camp page. 

“Our Quiet Fantasy” is a 10-track anthem through the band’s own experiences of love, loss, and lust through New York and Savannah Georgia, to the greek myths of Acteon and Diana and even a nod to Gustav Mirbeau in the albums second track “Torture Garden”.

Tracks are as follows:


01 Start! and Continue. A disquieting mantra.

02 Torture Garden.  The lyrics are a nod to the novel by Gustav Mirbeau; the style is in part a tribute to the late Billy Mackenzie and his excellent band Associates.

03 You'll Sleep When I Die.  The song began as a joke that cropped from the caption on a tee shirt.  It features the Akai AX60 synthesizer- a new acquisition at the time.

04 My Quiet Fantasy.  An unexpected encounter with a convalescing starlet in a wellness retreat in West Palm Beach, Florida prompted this song.

05 Have The Pain.  A pulsating admonition and an anti-Mantra of sorts closes Side A.


01 Starlet.  Hollywood is still Babylon.

02 Rockabye.  New town doldrums along with a heady dose of wine and Jeffrey Lee Pierce brought about this one. (An early live version was released as a 7").

03 The Immortalists.  A word they discovered in a Joy Division song; written in the frustration of a cloud-obscured solar eclipse.

04 Regret.  "Anyone who says they have no regrets is a fucking liar" - Peter, during a NY performance.

05 Monster.  Regret Pt. 2: "The monster is YOU".


"Our Quiet Fantasy" (2018)- full length album

"Live at House of Strut"(2017) - 7" vinyl