Voodoo Johnson

Voodoo Johnson


With a sound informed by the classic ‘70s majesty of Led Zeppelin and Aerosmith, combined with the furious energy of more recent acts like Velvet Revolver, Queens of the Stone Age, and Monster Magnet.Voodoo Johnson are a force for rock in a nightmare world of Lily Allen and The Ordinary Boys.


The award-winning Voodoo Johnson were formed in the West Midlands in 2005, by lead guitarist Carl Gethin and drummer Dave Barker. Initially performing as Polarian, the pair recruited Carl’s brother Paul to play rhythm guitar, and played with a number of local musicians before finally settling on the current line-up of Carl, Dave and Paul, plus Rich Bellamy on bass and singer Kevin Bayliss.

In their time gigging, the band have enjoyed several memorable nights, including support slots at big venues with established acts Duff McKagan's Loaded, Hawkwind, The Zico Chain, Sign and The Sound Explosion and sets at The Barfly in Cardiff, The Manchester Academy and Liverpool’s legendary Cavern Club.

Most notable of all was guitarist Carl Gethin’s victory in Total Guitar’s 2005 Riffathon competition, for the band’s cover of All Along the Watchtower. The event, held at London’s Hammersmith Palais, included a meeting with judges Jimmy Page, Brian May and Dan Hawkins.

In October 2008 Voodoo Johnson entered the studio with producer Gavin Monaghan (Kings of Leon, Editors, Ryan Adams) to record their second EP "Into The Red" due for release in Jan 2009.

Early response has been amazing with plays by Alex Zane and Bruce Dickinson already!


Into The Red E.P
Dance with the Devil E.P
Voodoo Johnson E.P

Set List

The Art of Losing
No Inbetween
Blow Me Away
Dirty Angel
1000 Miles
My Way
Dance with the Devil
Karma King
Bullshit, Lies & Tears
The Gravity
Thicker Than Blood
The Reapers Song
Swallow the Sun
Waiting for Renus

All Along the Watchtower
Nobody Does It Better