Perth, Western Australia, AUS

Zarm is for lovers of music the world over


Roots-soul group Zarm creates waves as a cutting-edge live band – a group which galvanizes a bluesy roots sound into an impressive power-packed live experience. Combining groove driven rhythms with waves of dub-laced guitar lines and evocative melodies, songwriters Luke Hutcheson (vocals, guitar) and Joelle Barbé (drums, backing vocals), bring together the raw energy, spontaneity and soulful touch to Zarm's fore – a mix that makes Zarm a group for lovers of music the world over.

The debut EP 'Elephone' features the wide variety and depth in Zarm's creative style – a melodically rich and dynamic blend of bouncing rhythms with reggae chops, soul, pop, blues and electro flavours – showcasing the array of musical and cultural influences in both Luke (Australia) and Joelle's (Seychelles) soulful sound. On stage, Zarm performs with an impassioned and captivating energy, joined by an impressive line up of musicians including Thierryno Gangou (keys, backing vocals), Jon Fernandes (keys, backing vocals), Brent Purser (bass, backing vocals) and Jamaican MC and DJ Flex (vocals, melodica).

Currently in the studio recording new material for their next release later this year, Zarm's follow up to the 2013's self-produced 'Elephone' – nominated at the Musicoz Australian Independent Music Awards with Can't Get Enough placed in the Top Songs of 2013 – includes new and previously unrecorded live favourites, such as All Folks, What You Need and Rise Up.

Zarm has shared the stage with some of Australia's music greats, including Icehouse, James Reyne, Diesel and Mental As Anything, as well as performing alongside international megastars including Ziggy Marley, Jimmy Cliff, Mary J Blige and Arrested Development.

Aside from Zarm, Joelle also plays the drums in her sister's band, Grace Barbé Afro-Kreol – an exciting and energetic group that is delighting audiences wherever they play. Since joining, they have toured Australia, New Zealand and India, as well as performing at Australia's leading music festivals, including Womadelaide, Port Fairy Folk Festival, and Blue Mountains Music Festival.



'Elephone' Track Listings

1) Here We Go

2) Everywhere

3) Can't Get Enough

4) Corby

5) Winhill

More Information: