Zoey Van Goey

Zoey Van Goey


Experimental Indie Folk Pop made by three ex-pats in Scotland about feeling the fear and doing it anyway. Girl/boy vocals and kitchen sink instrumentation, storytelling lyrics, dark pasts as TV Quiz Kid, Machete Wielding Explorer and Collapsed-Lung Survivor.


Zoey Van Goey is a band made up of Matt Brennan, Michael John McCarthy, and Kim Moore. Hailing from Canada, Ireland, and England respectively, they met in Glasgow, Scotland, and started making music together in 2006.

Stuart Murdoch of Belle and Sebastian produced the band's debut single, "Foxtrot Vandals", released in October 2007. Their second single, "Sweethearts In Disguise," followed in June 2008 in the midst of a summer tour of the Scottish festival circuit, including Rockness, T In The Park, Wickerman, Indietracks, Live at Loch Lomond, and Connect. Their debut album, 'The Cage Was Unlocked All Along,' was produced by Paul Savage (Delgados, Phantom Band) and, following a self-release in May, has recently been licensed for a wider release by Chemikal Underground.

In addition to gigging and recording, the band has also been involved in extra-curricular projects including a musical-literary collaboration with Falkirk art-rockers Y'all Is Fantasy Island and novelist Alan Bissett called the Super Puny Humans, as well as composing and performing music (in collaboration with David Paul Jones) for the National Theatre of Scotland in a stage adaptation of the Takeshi Kitano film 'Dolls.'

A few additional facts: Kim once trekked her way through a jungle in Ghana with a machete. Matt had part of his lung surgically removed after a tree fell on him during an ice storm in Montreal. Michael John was a trivia prodigy and regularly appeared on television quiz shows in Ireland throughout his childhood.


2007: Foxtrot Vandals 7" (Say Dirty Records)
2008: Sweethearts in Disguise 7" (Say Dirty / Lucky Number Nine)
2009: The Cage Was Unlocked All Along (Left in the Dark/Chemikal Underground Records)

Set List

Sets vary in length from 30 to 60 min, comprised of original material from our debut album and a number of new songs intended for our next release.