2006 APRA Professional Development Awards (Australian Artists)

Posted by:  Australasian Performing Right Association (APRA)


This gig is not currently accepting applications. We think you might like these similar gigs.


The APRA Professional Development Awards are conducted every two years by APRA (Australasian Performing Rights Association) in conjunction with music organisations and institutions involved in the representation or education of Australian music writers. The Awards offer cash, travel and recognition to music writers in the early stages of their careers. The cash component is $10,000 plus a further $1,500 to assist with travel costs.

The PDAs are for Australian writers who can demonstrate that they possess outstanding potential in their field. Up to six professional composers and songwriters will receive Awards. Assistance will be provided in the form of overseas travel to enable recipients to further their careers by attending music education courses, song writing workshops, composer seminars, participating in co-writing activities or other relevant opportunities.

Composers may submit to the following categories: Popular Contemporary (2 Awards are given in this category which includes Pop, Rock, Blues, Folk, Hip Hop, Dance and R&B); Country; Jazz; Classical; and Film and Television. Please note that there are additional requirement for the Classical category - check the APRA web site for details.

The Awards will be made after a detailed selection process carried out by APRA in conjunction with each partner organisation. Short listed nominations are then considered by judging panels in each genre which are comprised of composers, songwriters, publishers, producers and educators. The Awards will be announced at a date to be advised in March 2006 and presented at a special function in Sydney.

Partner organisations who are accepting online submissions include:

Association of Independent Record Labels (AIR)

Ausmusic SA

Carclew Youth Arts Centre

Central Australia Aboriginal Media Association (CAAMA)

Contemporary Country Music Coalition (CCMC)

Country Music Association of Australia (CMAA)

Gadigal Information Service

Goolarri Media Enterprises

Melbourne Blues Appreciation Society (MBAS)

Music Managers’ Forum (MMF)


Music NT

Q Music (Q Music members ONLY)

Sydney Improvised Music Association (SIMA)

Tas Music

The Push Inc

Western Australian Music Industry Association (WAM)

Please note the following guidelines when submitting to APRA’s Professional Development Awards:

*Nominees must be not less than 18 years of age on 1st January 2006.

*Nominees must be Australian citizens or have been a legal resident in Australia for a minimum of two consecutive years on 1st January 2006.

*Nominees may only apply for one category of Award.

*Nominations may only be made by individual writers. Co-writers should nominate separately.

*Previous winners of an APRA Professional Development Award are ineligible to apply.