5th Annual Independent Music Awards

Posted by:  The Independent Music Awards


This gig is not currently accepting applications. We think you might like these similar gigs.


The deadline for submissions has been extended to September 1, 2005.
Established in 1999, the 5th edition of the Independent Music Awards (IMAs) will continue to honor excellence within the indie artist and music business community.

Created by Music Resource Group, publisher of the best-selling Musician's Atlas contact resource, the IMA program coordinates a variety of programs and events to market and promote IMA winners and finalists throughout the year. Among the promotional benefits are online jukeboxes dedicated to both IMA Winners at www.disclogic.com/imawinners.jsp and IMA Finalists at www.disclogic.com/imafinalists.jsp. MRG directs consumers and industry representatives to these two promotional areas through a series of high-profile marketing campaigns, advertising, trade show activities, promotional materials, etc.

Co-sponsored by Borders Books & Music, the IMA program winners benefit significantly from the longstanding relationship with one of the nation's largest entertainment retailers. In addition to promoting IMA Winners to its 5 million customer email database, Borders increased its IMA program commitment by adding listening stations for the IMA Winners CD compilation in its top-selling music sales markets. The chain also makes winners' full-length CDs available for sale in select stores and through the BordersStores.com retail site.

In addition to music honors in a variety of music categories, the IMAs also recognize achievements in several design categories including Album Packaging, Album Photography, Artist Website, Indie Record Label Website, Merchandising and Poster design.

Entry to most IMA categories may be submitted through Sonicbids. Multiple submissions are accepted.

Some of this year's Judges include:


*Norah Jones

*Melissa Etheridge

*Joe Perry

*Bill Wyman

*George Clinton

*Jonatha Brooke

*Chris Thile

*Hubert Sumlin

*Andrew W.K.


*Abby White, Performing Songwriter

*Alexandra Patsavas: The Chop Shop

*Robert Goodale: UltraStar.com

*Melinda Newman: Billboard Magazine

*Dan Storper: Putumayo Records

*Merri Cyr: Merri Cyr Photography

Past program judges have included: Tom Waits, Aimee Mann, Ray Davies, Lou Reed, Erykah Badu, Arturo Sandoval, William Ackerman, Amy Ray, Mavis Staples, DJ Spooky, Steve Vai, Kenny Aronoff, Eileen Ivers, Joan Baez, Mickey Hart, Jose Feliciano, Tina Weymouth, Joshua Redman, Charlie Hunter, Don Byron, Wilson Pickett, Kelly Willis, Robbie Fulks, Joe Henry, Mitchell Froom and many more celebrated artists.