7th Annual Independent Music Awards (final deadline)

Posted by:  The Independent Music Awards


This gig is not currently accepting applications. We think you might like these similar gigs.



Reach More Than 20 Million Music Fans

For the past 7 years, the Independent Music Awards has helped indie artists & releases worldwide, overcome mainstream obstacles & reach larger audiences & opportunities.

Produced by The Musician’s Atlas & co-sponsored by mega retailer, Borders Books & Music; online retail giant eMusic; radio promotion gurus, The Planetary Group; digital networks, ManiaTV & HavocTV; Burnside Distribution; social networking community, Trig.com and radio tracking service, MediaGuide.

IMA Winners are promoted to more than 20 Million music fans & key industry decision-makers including Radio Programmers, Talent Buyers, Film, TV & Gaming Music Supervisors and Music Press.

IMA Winners benefit from yearlong promotion, marketing & distribution programs via print, broadcast & online initiatives.

The broad spectrum of IMA song and album categories span all genres including: Alt. Country, Americana, Blues, Punk, Children’s Music, Contemporary Christian, Country, Dance/Electronica, Folk/Singer-Songwriter, Gospel, Hard Rock/Metal, Jam, Jazz, Latin, Live Performance, New Age, Pop/Rock, R&B, Rap/Hip-Hop, Social Action, World Fusion & World Traditional and Music Video (Supersonic members only). The program also honors excellence in various album art, web and swag design categories as well as a new category that recognizes achievements in Music Video production.

Judges for the 7th Annual IMA program include:

  • Ray Davies
  • Suzanne Vega
  • Les Claypool (Primus)
  • Snoop Dogg
  • Chad Smith (Red Hot Chili Peppers)
  • Mavis Staples
  • Frank Iero (My Chemical Romance)
  • Angelique Kidjo
  • Tim Pagnotta (Sugarcult)
  • Duncan Sheik
  • Judy Collins
  • Ice-T
  • Chuck Comeau (Simple Plan)
  • Charles Musselwhite
  • Mobb Deep
  • Susan Tedeschi
  • MickDeth (18 Visions)
  • Martin Atkins (Public Image Ltd. & Nine Inch Nails)
  • Carrie Hughes (MTV Music Supervisor)
  • Anthony DeCurtis (Rolling Stone)
  • Kevin Lyman (Creator/Producer Vans Warp Tour)
  • Stefan Goldby (Music Programming Mania TV)
  • Chris Douridas (Tastemaker/Hollywood Music Supervisor)
  • Mike Errico (Blender.com)

Entries received from Japan, Australia, Malaysia, Guam, Argentina, England, Mexico, Scotland, Ireland, France, Germany, Greece, Nigeria, Estonia, Poland, the Netherlands, Sweden, Finland, Israel, Spain, Canada and the United States reflect the program's stature and reach throughout the international indie music community.

Winners & Finalists credit the program with boosting their visibility among festival bookers, club talent buyers, radio programmers, distributors, industry insiders and fans. Past Winners & Finalists include: Speech, Lacuna Coil, Sugarcult, Chris Whitley, Richard Julian, Eleni Mandel, The Mooney Suzuki , Girlyman, Sweet Honey in The Rock, God Forbid, Bitter:Sweet and Dan Bern.


  • Winners and their music are promoted to over 10 million Borders Books & Music customers in 12 consecutive weekly “Shortlist” opt-in eNewsletters. The artist’s own releases will be available for purchase at the BordersStores.com site.

  • IMA jukeboxes allow music fans to vote for their favorites songs and feature the music & contact info for Winners & Finalists.
  • 10,000 copies of the IMA Winners CD compilation is distributed to music fans & industry at international music conferences, festivals, Spring Break & other events throughout the year.
  • The sampler is promoted at 650+ US & Canadian college & public stations by leading radio promotions company The Planetary Group and routinely places in the Top 1-25 CMJ charts.
  • The IMA Winners CDs is promoted to more than 1 Million eMusic subscribers.
  • All music & music video category Winners & Finalists to be promoted to more than 9 Million at digital broadcast sites including ManiaTV.com & HavocTV.com.
  • Winners & Finalists promoted to Trig.com social networking community.

Please note: Details about entering recordings for all Album Of The Year and Design Categories, that require full-length CD & artwork submissions, are included in the Sonicbids entry confirmation, or visit the www.IndependentMusicAwards.com.

Please note: You must have a Supersonic EPK to submit to the Music Video category.