8th Annual Independent Music Awards

Posted by:  The Independent Music Awards


This gig is not currently accepting applications. We think you might like these similar gigs.


Submit to the Independent Music Awards (IMAs) to reach more than 15 million music fans and key industry decision makers.


  • Winners will be selected to perform at an official IMA Showcase during this year’s CMJ Music Marathon.
  • 5,000 copies of the IMA Winners CD compilation are distributed to music fans & industry insiders at international music conferences, festivals, and more.
  • The IMA sampler is promoted at 650+ US & Canadian college & public stations by The Planetary Group and routinely places in the Top 1-25 CMJ charts.
  • The CD is promoted to more than 2 Million eMusic subscribers.
  • The CD is promoted to more than 1.8 Million Pure Volume members.
  • The CD is featured on listening stations at all CIMS Independent Music stores throughout the month of July.
  • IMA Winners’ releases will be available for sale and featured in a special IMA display at all CIMS stores.
  • Select IMA Winners are invited to tape live performances at the ManiaTV studios in Los Angeles for broadcast on the ManiaTV site, the ManiaTV “All Access” indie music channel, the Independent Music Awards site, and on the artists’ own sites.
  • Winners will be promoted on WorldSpace digital satellite radio heard by Millions in Africa, Asia, Middle East & Europe.
  • Music & Music video category Winners & Finalists are promoted to more than 12 Million on cable & digital broadcast sites including ManiaTV.com & HavocTV.com.
  • Winners & Finalists promoted to MySpace, Trig.com & other social networking communities.

This year’s judging panel includes: Peter Gabriel, country legend George Jones, Suzanne Vega, Buddy Guy, Roger Daltrey (The Who), Keith Urban, James “Blood” Ulmer, Paquito D’Rivera, Steve Vai, Clint Black, Rob Wasserman, Butch Walker, Zakk Wylde, John Patitucci, Lee Ritenour, DJ Skribble, Daryl Palumbo and Tim Lambesis. More will be confirmed within the coming weeks.

Industry judging panelists include: Anthony DeCurtis (Rolling Stone Editor), Mike Errico (Blender.com Editor), ; Lee Mergner (JazzTimes Editor In Chief); Bob Ludwig (Mastering Guru), Jason Olaine (Head of Programming, Festival Network/JVC Jazz Festival/Newport Folk Festival, etc.); Joe Cuello (MTV Networks); Aimee Allen (DJ for Indie 103.1); K. Tighe (Venus Zine Music Editor); Barbara Dacey (Program Director of mvyradio.com). More to come.

Past Winners & Finalists include: The Apples In Stereo, Koko Taylor, Speech, Lacuna Coil, Sugarcult, Chris Whitley, Mary Gauthier, Richard Julian, Eleni Mandel, Miguel Migs, The Mooney Suzuki, Girlyman, Sweet Honey in The Rock, God Forbid, Bitter:Sweet, Dan Bern, and hundreds of other artists.

IMA song and album categories include: Alt. Country, Americana, Blues, Punk, Children’s Music, Contemporary Christian, Country, Cover Song, Dance/Electronica, Folk/Singer-Songwriter, Gospel, Holy Hip Hop, Hard Rock/Metal, Jazz, Latin, Live Performance, New Age, Pop/Rock, R&B, Rap/Hip-Hop, Social Action, Song Used in Film/TV/Gaming/Multimedia, World Fusion, World Traditional and Music Video (Supersonic members only).

The program also honors excellence in various album packaging, album photography, band and indie label website designs and swag design categories as well as a new category that recognizes achievements in Music Video production.

Judges for the 8th Annual IMA program will be announced as they are confirmed.

Past judges include: Peter Gabriel, Les Claypool, Snoop Dogg, Wynonna, Frank Iero (My Chemical Romance), Ozzy Osbourne, Norah Jones, Chad Smith (Red Hot Chili Peppers), Tom Waits, Suzanne Vega, MickDeth, Mobb Deep, Ray Davies, Charlie Musselwhite, Susan Tedeschi, Ice-T, McCoy Tyner, Paul Oakenfold, Bill Frisell, Joe Perry, Judy Collins, Bill Wyman, Jonatha Brooke, Terence Blanchard, Amy Ray, Lou Reed, Bebel Gilberto, George Clinton, Melissa Etheridge, Chris Thile, Erykah Badu, Arturo Sandoval, Patty Loveless, William Ackerman, Delbert McClinton, Hubert Sumlin, Aimee Mann, Howard Tate, Steve Vai, DJ Spooky, Paquito D’Rivera, Yolanda Adams, Ben Folds, Loudon Wainwright III, Me’shell Ndegeocello, Ricky Skaggs, Don Byron, Mickey Hart, Rosanne Cash, Mavis Staples, Jose Feliciano, Jimmy Cliff, Tina Weymouth, John Medeski, Kelly Willis, Wilson Pickett, Charlie Hunter, Joshua Redman, Robbie Fulks, Joe Henry, Mitchell Froom, and many others.

Please note: You must have a Supersonic EPK to submit to the Music Video category.

Details about entering recordings for all Album Of The Year and Design Categories, that require full-length CD & artwork submissions, are included in the Sonicbids entry confirmation.

The Independent Music Awards are produced by The Musician’s Atlas & co-sponsored by online retail giants eMusic & Pure Volume; digital networks, ManiaTV & HavocTV; radio promotion gurus, The Planetary Group; Burnside Distribution; The Coalition of Independent Music Stores (CIMS), social networking community, Trig.com and radio tracking service, MediaGuide, the IMAs help indie artists worldwide, overcome mainstream obstacles to reach larger audiences & opportunities.