The 10th Annual Independent Music Awards

Posted by:  The Independent Music Awards


This gig is not currently accepting applications. We think you might like these similar gigs.


Last Chance for 2010! IMA 2010 Submissions close at 11:59pm on Friday, November 5th!And discounts when you make multiple submissions!

The Independent Music Awards connects artists to an audience of more than 1 billion music fans. This year's judges include: Tom Waits, Seal, Suzanne Vega, Ozzy Osbourne, Aimee Mann, Bettye LaVette, Pete Wentz, Judy Collins, Andrew WK, Anne Saunders (Falcon Ridge Folk Festival) & more. Highlights include: A 6-week radio campaign to 650 US & Canadian stations, inclusion on CDs distributed to industry/fans, live showcases, premium feature on eMusic & placement on 20,000 US jukeboxes reaching 1 billion listeners./n/nLast Chance for 2010! Submissions close at 11:59pm on Friday, November 5th!

Honors Awarded in 70 Song, Album, Video & Design Categories. Discount pricing starts with just 3 submissions!

The Independent Music Awards is the only international program that delivers the prestige & ongoing marketing support that builds buzz and turns millions of new fans into cusomters.


  • Nominees & Winners featured on 20,000 digital jukeboxes! Nominated and Winning music and short form music video will be showcased on 20,000 jukeboxes throughout the USA - reaching 1 billion listeners.
  • New Honors awarded for Adult Contemporary Album & Song, Instrumental Album & Song, Tribute Album, EP release, and Holiday Song.
  • Submission discounts: Special pricing begins at just 3 entries! Submit 5 entries and receive a 20% discount! (Note: Individual submissions on Sonicbids will range from $12 to $30 each.)
  • Artists that submit to the 10th IMAs are eligible for performance and broadcast opportunities.
  • Footage of IMA showcases that are recorded and/or streamed live are available to participating acts for use on their own sites and other promotional purposes.

Earning an Independent Music Award is more than just a badge of distinction. For the past 10 years artists and labels from around the world have found new fans & prominence through The IMAs. Unlike songwriting contests or battle of the band programs, the IMAs does not award cash or prizes. Winners and Nominees benefit from ongoing marketing campaigns, radio, print, online & broadcast promotions, performance and revenue opportunities.

  • National Jukebox Distribution: IMA winners & nominees will be featured on 20,000 AMI jukeboxes. These digital jukeboxes report 500,000,000 annual paid plays that reach 1 Billion "active" listeners in bars and taverns
  • 12-Week Radio Promotion Campaign: Winning tracks are promoted to 650 public and college stations in the US and Canada during a targeted radio promotion campaign. The IMA compilation routinely places on CMJ's Top 1-25 charts
  • Featured eMusic Promotion: The IMA WInners CD is promoted for 6 months+ to millions of eMusic subscribers - resulting in fan reviews, more exposure & sales
  • Yearlong Media Outreach: Promotion to thousands of press contacts, talent buyers, music supervisors, broadcasters and programming in yearlong marketing campaigns
  • IMAtv: Labels and artists that join the IMAs may be featured in IMAtv original programming
  • Live Performance Opportunities
  • And More!

This year's Judges include:

  • Tom Waits & Kathleen Brennan
  • Seal
  • Suzanne Vega
  • Ozzy Osbourne
  • Aimee Mann
  • Bettye LaVette
  • Gavin Rossdale (Bush)
  • Adam Duritz (Counting Crows)
  • Joe Perry (Aerosmith)
  • Shelby Lynne
  • Beth Gibbons (Portishead)
  • Benji & Joel Madden (Good Charlotte)
  • Jonatha Brooke
  • Judy Collins
  • Pete Wentz (Fall Out Boy)
  • Arturo Sandoval
  • McCoy Tyner
  • Kevin Lyman (Vans Warped Tour)
  • Dalis Allen (Kerrville Folk Festival)
  • Bill Bragin (Lincoln Center)
  • Anthony DeCurtis (Rolling Stone)
  • Evan Schlansky (American Songwriter)
  • Pat McGuire (Filter Magazine)
  • Aubin Paul (
  • See all judges here.

The program receives submissions from artists previously on major labels as well as self-released and indie label talent from more than 70 countries on 6 continents.

Past IMA Winners & Nominees include: Spinnerette, Cursive, ...And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead, Holly Golightly & The Brokeoffs, Ra-Ra Riot, The Cliks, Vienna Teng, The Flatlanders, fun., State Radio, Phil Roy, The Apples in stereo, Koko Taylor, Speech, Lacuna Coil, Jamie Lidell, The Trews, Joan As Police Woman, The Dollyrots, Sugarcult, Girlyman, Chris Whitley, Mary Gauthier, Richard Julian, Eleni Mandel, Miguel Migs, The Mooney Suzuki, Sweet Honey in The Rock, God Forbid, Bitter:Sweet, Dan Bern, and many more.