Telluride Bluegrass Festival - Troubadour Competition 2007

Posted by:  Planet Bluegrass  | 


This gig is not currently accepting applications. We think you might like these similar gigs.


The Telluride Troubadour competition is a nationally recognized songwriting contest that has taken place in conjunction with the Telluride Bluegrass Festival since 1991. The competition is open to solo performers who write and perform original music and are not signed to a major label or a publishing deal. Acceptable styles include singer-songwriter, Americana, folk, pop, and bluegrass. Contestants are judged on the quality of the song’s composition, vocal and instrumental delivery, and the overall performance.

Previous winners include Larry Good (1991), Cosy Sheridan (1992), Dan Sheridan (1993), Catie Curtis (1994), LJ Booth (1995), Michael Lille (1996), Jonathan Kingham (1997), Eugene Ruffolo (1998), Libby
Kirkpatrick (1999), Mary Coppin (2000), Kris Delmhorst (2001), Deb Talan (2002), Rachel Davis (2003), Brian Joseph (2004), Keith Greeninger (2005), and Nels Andrews (2006).

Finalists are awarded cash and prizes, as well as critical acclaim, well-deserved recognition, and a chance to perform on the festival main stage on Saturday evening!

This year's event will take place June 21-24, 2007 in Telluride, CO at Telluride Town Park and the preliminary lineups *Alison Krauss & Union Station, Sam Bush Band, Chick Corea & Bela Fleck, Emmylou Harris, Tony Rice with Alison Krauss & Union Station, Béla Fleck & the Flecktones, Yonder Mountain String Band, Béla, Edgar, Jerry, Sam, Bryan, Chris Thile & How to Grow a Band featuring Bryan Sutton, Jerry Douglas Band, Edgar Meyer & Chris Thile, John Cowan Band, Peter Rowan & Crucial Country, Dougie MacLean Band, Jackie Green, Mike Marshall & Hamilton de Holanda, Sparrow Quartet, Crooked Still, Infamous Stringdusters, Avett Brothers, Greensky Bluegrass and many more.

In addition to competition, each finalist also receives a workshop “in the round” performance slot, and KOTO-FM live radio slot during the festival.

Sponsors include ASCAP, Martin Guitars, Gibson Musical Instruments, Taylor Guitars, Shanti Guitars, Elixir Strings, and J D’Addario and Co.