Telluride Bluegrass Festival - Troubadour Competition 2009

Posted by:  Planet Bluegrass  | 


This gig is not currently accepting applications. We think you might like these similar gigs.


The Telluride Troubadour competition is a nationally recognized songwriting contest that has taken place in conjunction with the Telluride Bluegrass Festival since 1991. The competition is open to solo performers who write and perform original music and are not signed to a major label or a publishing deal. Acceptable styles include singer-songwriter, Americana, folk, pop, and bluegrass. Contestants are judged on the quality of the song’s composition, vocal and instrumental delivery, and the overall performance. There are 10 finalist slots available.

Previous winners include Larry Good (1991), Cosy Sheridan (1992), Dan Sheridan (1993), Catie Curtis (1994), LJ Booth (1995), Michael Lille (1996), Jonathan Kingham (1997), Eugene Ruffolo (1998), Libby Kirkpatrick (1999), Mary Coppin (2000), Kris Delmhorst (2001), Deb Talan (2002), Rachel Davis (2003), Brian Joseph (2004), Keith Greeninger (2005), Nels Andrews (2006), Gregory Allen Isokov (2007), and Nathan Moore (2008).

Finalists are awarded cash and prizes, as well as critical acclaim, well-deserved recognition, and a chance to perform on the festival main stage on Saturday evening!

This year's event will take place June 18-21, 2009 in Telluride, CO at Telluride Town Park and the preliminary lineup will be announced soon!

In addition to competition, each finalist also receives a 4-day camping pass, an “in the round” performance slot, performance coaching and a KOTO-FM live radio slot during the festival.

Sponsors include ASCAP, Martin Guitars, Gibson Musical Instruments, Shanti Guitars, Elixir Strings, and D’Addario and Co.